Home » Book

Blog Archives

  • Post Image

    The Essex Serpent

    Posted on July 11, 2022 by in

    Sarah Perry’s award-winning novel, set at the end of the nineteenth century and inspired by true events. Moving between Essex and London, myth and modernity, Cora Seaborne’s spirited search for the Essex Serpent encourages all around her to test their allegiance to faith or reason in an age of rapid scientific advancement. At the same […]

    Comments Off on The Essex Serpent
    Continue Reading...
  • Post Image

    The German Wife

    Posted on July 11, 2022 by in

    “Skillfully researched and powerfully written, The German Wife will capture you from the first page.” —Madeline Martin, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Bookshop in London The New York Times bestselling author of The Warsaw Orphan returns with a gripping novel inspired by the true story of Operation Paperclip: a controversial secret US […]

    Comments Off on The German Wife
    Continue Reading...
  • Post Image

    Ordinary Monsters

    Posted on July 11, 2022 by in

    A stunning new work of historical fantasy, J. M. Miro’s Ordinary Monsters introduces readers to the dark, labyrinthe world of The Talents England, 1882. In Victorian London, two children with mysterious powers are hunted by a figure of darkness —a man made of smoke. Sixteen-year-old Charlie Ovid, despite a lifetime of brutality, doesn’t have a […]

    Comments Off on Ordinary Monsters
    Continue Reading...
  • Post Image

    Wrath Goddess Sing

    Posted on July 11, 2022 by in

    Drawing on ancient texts and modern archeology to reveal the trans woman’s story hidden underneath the well-known myths of The Iliad, Maya Deane’s Wrath Goddess Sing weaves a compelling, pitilessly beautiful vision of Achilles’ vanished world, perfect for fans of Song of Achilles and the Inheritance trilogy. The gods wanted blood. She fought for love. […]

    Comments Off on Wrath Goddess Sing
    Continue Reading...
  • Post Image

    Kaikeyi

    Posted on July 11, 2022 by in

    “I was born on the full moon under an auspicious constellation, the holiest of positions — much good it did me.” So begins Kaikeyi’s story. The only daughter of the kingdom of Kekaya, she is raised on tales about the might and benevolence of the gods: how they churned the vast ocean to obtain the […]

    Comments Off on Kaikeyi
    Continue Reading...
  • Post Image

    The Teacher of Warsaw

    Posted on July 11, 2022 by in

    For fans of The Warsaw Orphan and The Tattooist of Auschwitz: the start of WWII changed everything in Poland irrevocably—except for one man’s capacity to love. “I want everyone I know to read this book.” —Kelly Rimmer, New York Times bestselling author of The Warsaw Orphan September 1, 1939. Sixty-year-old Janusz Korczak and the students […]

    Comments Off on The Teacher of Warsaw
    Continue Reading...
  • Post Image

    The Candy House

    Posted on July 11, 2022 by in

    From one of the most dazzling and iconic writers of our time and winner of the Pulitzer Prize, an electrifying, deeply moving novel about the quest for authenticity, privacy, and meaning in a world where our memories are no longer our own—featuring characters from A Visit from the Goon Squad. It’s 2010. Staggeringly successful and […]

    Comments Off on The Candy House
    Continue Reading...
  • Post Image

    Flying Solo

    Posted on July 11, 2022 by in

    Smarting from her recently cancelled wedding and about to turn forty, Laurie Sassalyn returns to her Maine hometown of Calcasset to handle the estate of her great-aunt Dot, a spirited adventurer who lived to be ninety. Along with boxes of Polaroids and pottery, a mysterious wooden duck shows up at the bottom of a cedar […]

    Comments Off on Flying Solo
    Continue Reading...
  • Post Image

    The Hotel Nantucket

    Posted on July 11, 2022 by in

    After a tragic fire in 1922 that killed 19-year-old chambermaid, Grace Hadley, The Hotel Nantucket descended from a gilded age gem to a mediocre budget-friendly lodge to inevitably an abandoned eyesore — until it’s purchased and renovated top to bottom by London billionaire, Xavier Darling. Xavier hires Nantucket sweetheart Lizbet Keaton as his general manager, […]

    Comments Off on The Hotel Nantucket
    Continue Reading...